NEUPERT fortepiano "Mozart" after Koennicke

NEUPERT fortepiano 
NEUPERT's MOZART fortepiano has its origin in period fortepianos from the last quarter of the 18th century that are part of the NEUPERT collection (now in the Germanisches Nationalmuseum, Nuremberg).

The main model chosen by NEUPERT for the creation of this instrument was a fortepiano by Johann Jakob Könnicke (1756-1811), Vienna 1796.

However NEUPERT did not restrict itself to copying an instrument slavishly. Individual elements from fortepianos by Anton Walter and Johann Andreas Stein were added to the instrument's construction as well as the workshop's own ideas. The result is a fortepiano distinguished by the light touch and the delicate, bright sound of authentic instruments from the classical and pre-classical period.

The five octave compass of this keyboard was never exceeded by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and by Ludwig van Beethoven not earlier than in the "Waldstein Sonata" (op. 53 from 1804).

For decades, during which the instrument was continually improved, NEUPERT 's MOZART fortepiano has successfully passed the demanding test of numerous concert halls, opera houses and conservatories. At the same time it has proved to be the ideal instrument for amateurs, playing the music of Mozart and his contemporaries at home.


Technical details

keyboard compass: F1- f3 (= 5 octaves) 
double strung; Viennese action 
2 kneelevers (forte, moderator )

length 205 cm (6'11") 
width 93 (3'1") 
net weight 90 kg

Additional options
  • Panelled lid
  • Pedals instead of kneelevers
  • Covers and benches matching the instrument

étendue de clavier: Fa1- fa3 (= 5 octaves) 
2 leviers de genou 
longueur 205 cm, largeur 93 cm, net 90 kg


estensione della tastiera: 5 ottave (Fa1- fa3
2 leve a ginocchio 
lunghezza 205 cm, larghezza 93 cm, 
netto 90 kg

extensión del teclado: 5 octavas (Fa1- fa3
2 palancas de rodillas 
largo 205 cm, ancho 93 cm, neto 90 kg